shiftnas.blogg.se

Pontiac fiero engine swaps
Pontiac fiero engine swaps













  1. #Pontiac fiero engine swaps install#
  2. #Pontiac fiero engine swaps update#
  3. #Pontiac fiero engine swaps manual#

I did them in gallery format becuase there were so many of them. So I will be in the GTP with Lisa and Arianna taking amazing video and photos on the drive. Unfortunately this means that their will be no way for me to have the car ready for the Arlington run. I am also going to try and find the leak in the A/C system on the 88 so I can go back to having a working A/C in the car. Swap in my high volume oil pump and make sure the motor won't leak any oil. So once we get the 88 motor out, we are going to do a minor tear down on the spare motor, replace a few seals and inspect the main and rod bearings. However Damian has convinced me that taking such a gamble would be a really bad idea.

#Pontiac fiero engine swaps install#

I had intended to install my spare motor "As Is" without cracking anything open, except for double checking the ported exhaust manifolds. So he just left, I am taking a break, then I'll get back at my 88 and see how far I can get before he comes over tomorrow morning.

pontiac fiero engine swaps

I got a battery back into my 88 fired it up and moved it into the staging area, then we realized that it was 4:30 and he was behind schedule to leave.

pontiac fiero engine swaps

Then got back here, we put the cradle / trans / suspension back into his car, got the wheels back on the car so it can be rolled. (F&UCKING Inspection Plate) He took the motor to crackers, got it onto an engine stand, partially dismantled. Will do photo's later, but we loaded his engine onto the trailer, after getting everything removed off of the cradle.

#Pontiac fiero engine swaps update#

I'll try to update this thread every night, as we get more done. We hope to get it all done in 3 days, minus the install of his motor as it will take a few extra days for that to come back. What the F muffler resonator thing that will be thrown away, previous owner installed it. We would yard his motor out and get it off to the shop, then pull the 88 motor from my car and swap in my spare, then once his motor is back from the rebuild we would install it back into his car.īorrowed engine hoist and spare 88 Exhaust We struck a deal that we would help each other out. Then Dawg needed the 3.4 pulled from his Fiero so he could send it out to get it rebuilt. I had been putting off swapping in my spare 2.8 for months. Everything is coated in deep Lotus Laser Blue paint.Ok so my 88GT has bad rings slipping clutch and an alternator that refused to come out. The exterior features a custom widebody, hood vent, and molded rear spoiler. The car rides on 17×8.5 wheels with 245 tires in front and 18×10.5 wheels with 295 tires in back. He completed the powertrain swap with a custom exhaust and oval tip. Chris retained the Volkswagen GTI shifter to control the transmission but had to lengthen the shifter cables. He also had to cut into the trunk to clear the turbocharger. It also features a Tial 38 mm wastegate, GM ignition coil, DeatchWerks 60 lb injectors, heavily modified Eurovan intake manifold, and Cadillac Northstar V8 throttle body.Ĭhris installed the VR6 using custom mounts on a notched Fiero subframe. The motor features a modified Turbonetics turbocharger using a billet 64 mm compressor and 62 mm F1-62 turbine.

#Pontiac fiero engine swaps manual#

So in went a turbocharged 2.8 L VR6 (BDF) with an 02M six-speed manual transmission from a 2004 Volkswagen GTI. Down the road Chris installed a turbocharged 2.8 L 2800 V6 before swapping for a turbocharged 3.4 L 3400 V6.Īfter all those swaps Chris decided to install his favorite motor.

pontiac fiero engine swaps

Then came a five-speed manual transmission before giving the powertrain away. He quickly replaced it with a supercharged 3.8 L 3800 V6 and four-speed automatic transmission. It came with a 2.5 L LR8 inline-four and three-speed automatic transmission.















Pontiac fiero engine swaps